Ivo Andrić


Third Croatian Nobel Prize winner, 1961 winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature

The material for his works was mainly drawn from the history, folklore, and culture of his native Bosnia. Three released in 1945 and written during World War II:
The Bridge on the Drina
Bosnian Chronicle (a.k.a. Chronicles of Travnik)
The Woman from Sarajevo

Some of his other popular works include:
Ex Ponto (1918)
Unrest (Nemiri, 1920)
The Journey of Alija Đerzelez (Put Alije Đerzeleza, 1920)
The Vizier's Elephant (Priča o vezirovom slonu, 1948; trans. 1962)
The Damned Yard (Prokleta avlija, 1954)
Omer-Pasha Latas (Omerpaša Latas, released posthumously in 1977)

His manuscripts and literary legacy are in the custody of the foundation he founded (Fondacija Ive Andrića) and Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts. Some of his manuscripts and literary legacy are in custody of the Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts, the Institute for the History of Croatian Literature, Theater and Music in Zagreb.

Some claim that the works of Andrić, particularly his thesis The Development of Spiritual Life in Bosnia under the Influence of Turkish Rule have resurfaced as a source of anti-Muslim prejudice in Serbian cultural discourse.